Campbeltown Brass

brass final logo

Copyright ©2018 Campbeltown Brass | All Rights Reserved | Scottish Charity No: SC035700    

e:   |  Website by Wepo Designs  

Facebook circle white small Google + circle white small Mail white small Twitter circle white small



Band's Solo & Ensemble Competition

31st January 2016

Campbeltown Brass held its annual Solo and Ensemble Contest on Saturday 31st January, with 30 soloists and 4 ensembles competed in 5 classes.  It was a real triumph for the boys as Owen Pickering, Andrew McMillan and Kyle Paterson won the Open, Intermediate and Junior Sections with Kirsten Souter, Erin McLellan and Rona Campbell earning well deserved runners up prizes.  Special mention must be made of the Beginners Solo competition, with 14 very young players giving their first ever public performance after just a few months lessons to a packed audience.  


The Adjudicator was Mr Scott Kerr, principal Euphonium of the Whitburn Band, who also gave an excellent recital and offered lots of advice as well as praise and encouragement to the Campbeltown youngsters.  


Musical Director Gordon Evans chaired the event and gave a moving tribute to Jenny Ralston, Lynsey Wardrop, Emma Paterson, Jimmy Taylor, Robert McNair and Barbara MacTaggart, all former band members who are remembered for this occasion.




Beginners Solo

Emily Bennie - Winner

Grace McTaggart - Runner-up


Junior Solo

Kyle Paterson - Winner

Rona Campbell - Runner-up


Intermediate Solo

Andrew McMillan - Winner

Erin McLellan - Runner-up


Open Solo

Owen Pickering - Winner

Kirsten Souter - Runner-up



Campbeltown Brass A - Winner

Campbeltown Junior A - Runner-up



Beginners Band

5th March 2016

beginners March 2016 (640x360)

Beginners Band performing at the Stronvaar Bowling Club's Old Folks Day.


Besson Solo & Ensemble Competition

ensembles (640x360)

Saturday 6th February 2016



It was a great day for Campbeltown Brass, returning home with quite a selection of silverware! Click here to read more.



Mid Argyll Music Festival

19th March 2016





Beginners Section

Stephanie Rennie - First

Christina McTaggart and Grace McTaggart - Joint Second


Primary Section

Drew Cunningham - First

Hannah McCaig & Andrew Colville - Joint Second

Jamie Colville - Third


Secondary 1 - 3

Andrew McMillan - First

Amy Paterson - Third


Secondary 4 - 6

Gavin Johnson - First

Owen Pickering - Second

Lucy Kerr & Kirsten Souter - Joint Third




Campbeltown Junior Brass A - First

Campbeltown Junior Brass B & Lochgilphead Primary Pipe Band - Joint Second




Islay Primary Schools Band - First

Campbeltown Beginners Band - Second


Congratulations to Gavin Johnson for winning the Co-operative Membership Cup for the highest mark in Solo Brass. Also to Campbeltown Brass for winning "The Gifford Bowl" for the highest mark gained by a Choir or Band.

Mid Argyll 2016 (640x384)

 Next >

12th March 2016


It was an exhilarating and celebratory weekend for Campbeltown Brass, returning home as the new Scottish Champions in the Third Section.  Competing against 8 other bands, the Senior band, with a few players you can hardly see above the music stands, played with maturity and confidence.  To complete this fantastic achievement, Murray Ralston on Euphonium won Best Instrumentalist.  Well done!


Read more

Scottish Championships